#STOPDUBLIN

Version française

For a true right of asylum in Europe, do away with the Dublin regulation

Collectives, associations and supportive citizens appeal for abandoning a policy of neither-nor: neither welcoming refugees nor rejecting the right of asylum

In May 2017, the next President of the Republic will be responsible for defining the main direction of France's refugee policy.

Today, in spite of claims of a reception policy (increasing the number of places in reception centres for asylum seekers - CADA, new places for refugees from the unauthorized refugee camp in Calais, the humanitarian centre in Paris), France has for months been carrying out a policy of mass expulsion of asylum seekers made possible by the mechanisms of the Dublin III regulation.

Collectives, associations and supportive citizens, appalled by this double talk, denounce the Dublin Regulation and ask French presidential candidates to speak out.

What is the Dublin III regulation?

According to European legislation, a potential refugee must seek asylum in the first European country where he or she sets foot, except in a few cases (a family member already present in a member state or a risk of ill-treatment in the first country, for example). The proof of having been in another European country is usually based on a person's fingerprints registered in the Eurodac file. These fingerprints are very often obtained by force.

The Eurodac report alone justifies the application of the so-called Dublin procedure for asylum seekers, after which they can be sent back to the first European country entered. In the logic of this procedure, people are deported without having ever had the opportunity to explain why they came to France.

Currently, this procedure makes it possible to obstruct 70 to 90% of asylum applications and justifies a policy of mass expulsions (so-called "transfers").

In France: "Dublin those refugees so that I don't have to see them!"

The Dublin III Regulation is a pretext for non-reception.
The application of the Dublin procedure is not compulsory; states are free to examine the asylum applications of any person. France has decided to do the opposite. The Interior Minister, in a letter in July 2016, explicitly ordered prefectures to systematically apply Dublin procedures to people registered in Eurodac and increase the number of people expelled. Prefects strictly enforced the order and Dublin expulsions increased 150% from 2015 to 2016.

All refugees, all Dublinned, all expelled.

The Dublin III regulation makes the situation for people just arriving extremely difficult.
Persons referred to as "Dublinned", even when they are not under house arrest, are subject to multiple summonses throughout the application process. If they do not show up, they are said to be "on the run": they lose their asylum seeker's rights, namely a subsistence allowance and accommodation, and have to wait 18 months to apply again for asylum in France. They also live under the perpetual fear of being arrested, placed in detention centres and deported. This socio-economic situation, induced by the unfair prefectural practices encouraged by the government, is an ideal breeding ground for networks of exploitation, hidden labour and forced begging.

If France cannot take in all the misery of the world, it certainly does not hesitate to create it.

In Europe, the organization of non-reception

The Dublin III regulation puts all the migratory strain on the countries of Southern and Eastern Europe.
Asylum seekers arrive in countries in the south and east of Europe that have the least ability to receive them. Countries in the north and west absolve themselves of all responsibility and leave a few countries to struggle with what the EU calls the migratory "burden". To the point of exposing refugees to serious right-of-asylum violations, systematic imprisonment and violence.
Alone in receiving refugees, these few border states provide a basis for the claim "We cannot take in refugees! Look how bad it is here!"

The Dublin III regulation allows for expelling to countries where the right to asylum and other human rights are not respected.
Refusing their transfer to other countries is not a whim of Dublinned individuals. They rightly fear their rights will not be respected. Several European countries have been singled out by both NGOs and institutions :

Dignified treatment is not a whim, it is a right.

The Dublin III regulation carries the seeds of a denial of legal rights.
There are huge inequalities in the treatment of asylum applications from one European country to another. Depending on their nationality and when they apply, chances for an asylum seeker to be recognized as a refugee vary from 80% to 50% or even 3% in different countries! The Dublin Regulation makes it impossible to apply again for asylum elsewhere: thus, it not only prevents the choice of country, but leaves no second chance.

Heads you lose, tails you lose.

The Dublin III regulation makes the subcontracting of mass deportation to countries of origin possible.
The Dublin expulsions allow the states in north and west of Europe to completely disregard their responsibilities toward asylum seekers. The notion of a "safe country" is not the same everywhere in Europe: if, for example, France does not send people back to Afghanistan, this is not the case for Norway, Belgium, Croatia or Germany. When France transfers "Dublinned" people to these countries, it is turning a blind eye on their future. It is not uncommon for European states to expel people several times until one of the countries decides to deport them, even to a country at war. These deportations are not anecdotal :

A clear conscience on one hand, deportation to war zones on the other, the circle is complete.

For a policy consistent with our values ​​and commitments.

When refugees arrive in the country, France carries out an absurd and unjustified sorting between "good refugees" and "Dublinables". For obvious geographical reasons, but also because of sanctions imposed on transportation companies, it has become virtually impossible to apply for asylum in France without passing through another European country. Escaping Dublin III is a matter of chance and luck.

This sorting procedure allows France to present a reception policy that concerns only a small minority of asylum seekers, while practicing a brutal policy of expulsion and obstruction of the right of asylum.

However another way is possible, more in keeping with the values ​​of our country that the future President of the Republic should guarantee.

Article 17 of the Dublin Regulation III states :
(17) Any Member State should be able to derogate from the responsibility criteria, in particular on humanitarian and compassionate grounds, in order to bring together family members, relatives or any other family relations and examine an application for international protection lodged with it or with another Member State, even if such examination is not its responsibility under the binding criteria laid down in this Regulation.
This article has been included in the French Constitution in article 53-1, which states :
[…] However, even if the request does not fall within their jurisdiction under the terms of such agreements, the authorities of the Republic shall remain empowered to grant asylum to any Foreigner who is persecuted for his action in pursuit of freedom or who seeks the protection of France on other grounds.
Developing an effective asylum and reception policy is therefore a matter of political choice.

The collectives united here ask candidates to the presidency of the Republic:

to clearly reaffirm their commitment to the right of asylum, a fundamental right of our Republic recognized in the Constitution and in our adherence to the 1951 Refugee Convention

The collectives assembled also ask the candidates to uphold a genuine asylum policy :


The collectives united :
Association KÂLÎ
ATTAC Paris Centre
ATTAC 19/20
CGT Paris
Collectif 20e Solidaire avec Tous les Migrants
Collectif ARDA
Collectif Austerlitz
Collectif Migrants Bienvenue 34
Collectif Solidarité Migrants 19e
Collectif thé et café pour les réfugiés
Europe Ecologie - Les Verts
Ensemble
GISTI
La Chapelle Debout !
La Cimade Ile-de-France
La Cuisine Des Migrants
L'Auberge des Migrants
Ligue des Droits de l'Homme Paris
Mouvement de la Paix Paris 19/20
MRAP
Nouveau Parti Anticapitaliste
Paris d'Exil
Parti de Gauche
PCF Paris 19e
Polyvalence
P'tit Dej' à Flandre
Réseau Education Sans Frontières
Réseau Études Supérieures et Orientation des Migrant.e.s et Exilé.e.s
Roya Citoyenne
United Migrants

Contact : stopdublin@gmail.com

#STOPDUBLIN

English version

En finir avec le règlement Dublin ‬pour un vrai droit d'asile en Europe

Appel des collectifs,‭ ‬associations,‭ ‬citoyens solidaires à sortir de la politique du ni-ni‭ ‬:‭ ‬ni accueil des réfugiés,‭ ‬ni rejet du droit d'asile

En mai‭ ‬2017‭, ‬le nouveau Président de la République aura la responsabilité de définir les axes de la politique d'accueil de la France à l'égard des réfugiés.‭

Aujourd'hui, malgré l'affichage d'une politique d'accueil (augmentation des places en Centres d'accueil pour demandeurs d'asile - CADA -, création de places d'hébergement pour les exilés du bidonville de Calais, centre humanitaire de Paris), la France applique depuis de nombreux mois une politique d'expulsion massive de ses demandeurs d'asile‭ ‬grâce aux rouages du règlement Dublin III.

Les collectifs,‭ ‬associations et citoyens solidaires,‭ ‬atterrés de ce double discours et dénonçant avec force le règlement Dublin,‭ ‬demandent aux candidats à la Présidence de la République de sortir du silence.

?v20170427

Le règlement Dublin III, c'est quoi ?

C'est la règle européenne prévoyant qu'un réfugié potentiel doit demander l'asile dans le premier pays européen où il pose le pied, sauf quelques exceptions (membre de famille déjà présent dans un Etat membre, par exemple, ou risque de mauvais traitements dans le premier pays d'accueil...). La preuve de son passage dans un pays européen est généralement constituée par l'enregistrement de ses empreintes digitales dans le fichier Eurodac. Cette prise d'empreinte est très souvent obtenue par la contrainte ou la force.

A lui seul, ce signalement Eurodac justifie l'application aux demandeurs d'asile d'une procédure dite « dublin », au terme de laquelle ils peuvent être renvoyés dans le premier pays européen traversé. Dans la logique de cette procédure, les personnes sont renvoyées sans avoir jamais l'occasion d'exposer les raisons de leur venue en France.

Actuellement, cette procédure permet de faire obstruction à 70 à 90 % des demandes d'asile, et justifie une politique d'expulsion (dites « transferts ») massive.

En France : « Dublinez-moi ces réfugiés que je ne saurais voir ! »

Le règlement Dublin III est un prétexte au non-accueil.
L'application de la procédure Dublin n'est pas obligatoire, les Etats sont libres d'examiner les demandes d'asile de toute personne. C'est le choix inverse qui a été fait par la France : dans une lettre d'instruction de juillet 2016, le Ministre de l'Intérieur a explicitement ordonné aux préfectures d'appliquer systématiquement la procédure Dublin aux personnes signalées dans Eurodac et d'augmenter le nombre de renvois effectifs. L'ordre a été rigoureusement respecté par les préfets, puisque les renvois Dublin ont augmenté de 150 % entre 2015 et 2016.

Tous réfugiés, tous dublinés, tous renvoyés.

Le règlement Dublin III précarise les populations primo-arrivantes.
Les personnes dites « dublinées », même quand elles ne sont pas assignées à résidence, font l'objet tout au long de la procédure de diverses convocations. Si elles ne s'y présentent pas, elles sont dites « en fuite » : elles perdent le bénéfice de leurs droits de demandeur d'asile, à savoir une allocation de subsistance et un hébergement, et doivent attendre 18 mois pour reformuler une demande d'asile en France. Elles vivent également sous la crainte perpétuelle d'être arrêtées, placées en centre de rétention et renvoyées. Cette situation socio-économique, induite par les pratiques préfectorales déloyales encouragées par le gouvernement, est un terreau idéal pour les réseaux d'exploitation, de travail au noir, de mendicité.

Si la France ne peut pas accueillir toute la misère du monde, elle ne se prive pas d'en créer.

En Europe, l'organisation du non-accueil

Le règlement Dublin III fait peser toute la pression migratoire sur les pays du Sud et de l'Est de l'Europe.
Les demandeurs d'asile arrivent dans les pays qui ont les capacités d'accueil les plus modestes : ceux du Sud et de l'Est. De cette manière, les pays de l'Ouest s'exonèrent de toutes leurs responsabilités, et laissent quelques pays se débattre avec ce que l'UE appelle « la charge » migratoire. Quitte à exposer les réfugiés à de graves atteintes au droit d'asile, à l'enfermement systématique ici, des violences ailleurs.
Abandonnés dans l'accueil des réfugiés, ces quelques États frontaliers fournissent alors un bon argument pour dire « On ne peut pas accueillir les réfugiés ! Regardez comme cela se passe mal ! »

Le règlement Dublin III permet le renvoi vers des pays où ne sont respectés ni le droit d'asile ni les autres droits humains.
Les dublinés ne refusent pas leur transfert vers d'autres pays par caprice, mais bien parce qu'ils craignent à raison que leurs droits n'y soient pas respectés. Plusieurs pays européens sont en effet pointés du doigt tant par les ONG que par des institutions :

Exiger un traitement digne n'est pas un caprice, c'est un droit.

Le règlement Dublin III porte les germes du déni d'accès au droit.
Il existe d'énormes inégalités dans le traitement des demandes d'asile d'un Etat européen à l'autre. Selon sa nationalité, et selon les périodes, les chances pour un demandeur d'asile d'être reconnu réfugié varient selon les pays de 80 % à 50 % voire 3 % ! Le règlement Dublin empêche de reformuler une demande d'asile ailleurs : ainsi, non seulement il empêche le choix du pays d'arrivée, mais il ne laisse aucune seconde chance.

Face tu perds, pile tu perds.

Le règlement Dublin III permet la sous-traitance des renvois massifs vers les pays d'origine.
Les renvois Dublin permettent aux États du Nord et de l'Ouest de l'Europe de s'exonérer complètement de leurs responsabilités vis-à-vis des demandeurs d'asile. La notion de « pays sûr » n'est pas homogène en Europe : s'il n'est par exemple pas dans les pratiques en France de renvoyer des personnes en Afghanistan, ça n'est pas le cas pour la Norvège, la Belgique, la Croatie ou l'Allemagne. Lorsque la France transfère ses « dublinés » vers ces pays, elle ferme les yeux sur leur avenir. Il n'est d'ailleurs pas rare que les Etats européens se renvoient plusieurs fois des personnes jusqu'à ce que l'un d'eux décide d'une expulsion, y compris vers un pays en guerre. Ces renvois ne sont pas anecdotiques :

Bonne conscience d'un côté, renvoi vers la guerre de l'autre, la boucle est bouclée.

Pour une politique conforme à nos valeurs et nos engagements.

Lorsque des réfugiés arrivent sur son territoire, la France effectue un tri absurde et injustifié entre les « bons réfugiés », et les « dublinables ». Pour des raisons géographiques évidentes, mais aussi du fait des sanctions infligées aux entreprises de transport, il est devenu quasiment impossible de venir demander l'asile en France sans passer par un autre pays européen. Echapper au règlement Dublin III relève du hasard et de la chance.

Ce tri permet à la France d'afficher une politique d'accueil ne concernant qu'une minorité des demandeurs d'asile, tout en pratiquant une politique brutale de renvoi et d'obstruction au droit d'asile.

Une autre voie est pourtant possible, plus conforme aux valeurs de notre pays dont le futur Président de la République sera le garant.

L'article 17 du Règlement de Dublin III précise :
(17) Il importe que tout État membre puisse déroger aux critères de responsabilité, notamment  pour des motifs humanitaires et de compassion, afin de permettre le rapprochement de membres de la famille, de proches ou de tout autre parent et examiner une demande de protection internationale introduite sur son territoire ou sur le territoire d’un autre État membre, même si cet examen ne lui incombe pas en vertu des critères obligatoires fixés dans le présent règlement.
Cet article a été repris dans la Constitution française, dont l'article 53-1 précise :
[…] Toutefois, même si la demande n'entre pas dans leur compétence en vertu de ces accords, les autorités de la République ont toujours le droit de donner asile à tout étranger persécuté en raison de son action en faveur de la liberté ou qui sollicite la protection de la France pour un autre motif.
Développer une politique effective d'asile et d'accueil est donc une question de choix politique.

Les collectifs réunis demandent aux candidats à la Présidence de la République :

de réaffirmer clairement leur attachement au droit d'asile, droit fondamental cher à notre République, reconnu par notre Constitution et notre adhésion à la Convention de Genève de 1951.

Les collectifs réunis demandent également aux candidats de s'engager à une politique d'asile effective :


Les organisations signataires :
Association KÂLÎ
ATTAC Paris Centre
ATTAC 19/20
CGT Paris
Collectif 20e Solidaire avec Tous les Migrants
Collectif ARDA
Collectif Austerlitz
Collectif Migrants Bienvenue 34
Collectif Solidarité Migrants 19e
Collectif thé et café pour les réfugiés
Europe Ecologie - Les Verts
Ensemble
GISTI
La Chapelle Debout !
La Cimade Ile-de-France
La Cuisine Des Migrants
L'Auberge des Migrants
Ligue des Droits de l'Homme Paris
Mouvement de la Paix Paris 19/20
MRAP
Nouveau Parti Anticapitaliste
Paris d'Exil
Parti de Gauche
PCF Paris 19e
Polyvalence
P'tit Dej' à Flandre
Réseau Education Sans Frontières
Réseau Études Supérieures et Orientation des Migrant.e.s et Exilé.e.s
Roya Citoyenne
United Migrants

Les réponses des candidats seront publiées ici.
Contact : stopdublin@gmail.com